top of page
Search
  • mapmakerdarren

Thunderstruck!

Here is a map I created using National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) data via ESRI's living atlas. In particular, I narrowed the data down to look at the last 5 years of thunderstorm events across the United States of America using definition queries and then extracting the resulting points.


I made use of a tessellation, of transverse hexagons, and used the spatial join feature to join the NOAA data to the created tessellation.



Once I joined the data, I proceeded to use some symbology magic I learnt from John Nelson's YouTube page! Involving rotating hexagon marker symbols, using a graduated colour scheme, editing the maximum and minimum size of the marker, applying a mask and more!

The following map is what I came out with! With whiter, yellow areas experiencing more thunderstorms vs areas of purple, darker shades experiencing less thunderstorm events.



Have fun!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page